Books

THE FOREST QUEEN

Coming August 7, 2018.

AmazonGoodreads

From a New York Times bestselling author, a fresh, female-centered take on “Robin Hood” in which a young noblewoman, like the legendary hero, becomes an outlaw fighting for social justice. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sarah J. Maas.

When 18-year-old Silvie’s brother takes over management of their family’s vast estates, Sylvie feels powerless to stop his abuse of the local commoners. Her dearest friend asks her to run away to the woods with him, and soon a host of other villagers join them. Together, they form their own community and fight to right the wrongs perpetrated by the king and his noblemen. Perfect for fans of fairy tale retellings or anyone who loves a strong female lead, this gorgeously-written take on the Robin Hood tale goes beyond the original’s focus on economic justice to explore love, gender, the healing power of nature, and what it means to be a family.

VENTURESSVenturess Final

IndieBoundAmazonGoodreads

☆ “As clever as the heroine’s invented boot polishers and sewing machines, as appealing as the dresses designed by her coal-powered automaton horse.” – Kirkus, starred review

An action-packed companion to the New York Times bestseller Mechanica that’s perfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles andThe Red Queen series.

Young inventor Nicolette Lampton is living her own fairy tale happy ending. She’s free of her horrible step-family, running a successful business, and is uninterested in marrying the handsome prince, Fin. Instead, she, Fin, and their friend Caro venture to the lush land of Faerie, where they seek to put an end to the bloody war their kingdom is waging. Mechanical armies and dark magic await them as they uncover devastating secrets about the past and fight for a real, lasting happily-ever-after for two troubled countries—and for themselves.

Smart and unconventional, this novel will appeal to readers of romance and adventure alike.

MechanicaMECHANICA

GoodReads | Amazon | B&N | IndieBound

New York Times best seller

☆ “A smart, refreshing alternative to stale genre tropes.” —Kirkus, starred review

Mechanica has a thoroughly modern theme and teaches young readers to find their passion and become self-reliant.” —VOYA 4Q 4P M J S

Amazon’s Best Children’s Books of 2015 & Spotlight Pick for the Best Books of August, Bank Street Best Children’s Books of 2015, USA Today Must-Read Romances of 2015, American Library Association: Amelia Bloomer Project Recommended Feminist Literature for Young Readers official selection, YALSA Teens’ Top Ten nominee 2016

Nicolette’s awful stepsisters call her “Mechanica” to demean her, but the nickname fits: she learned to be an inventor at her mother’s knee. Her mom is gone now, though, and the Steps have turned her into a servant in her own home.

But on her sixteenth birthday, Nicolette discovers a secret workshop in the cellar and begins to dare to imagine a new life for herself. Could the mysterious books and tools hidden there—and the mechanical menagerie, led by a tiny metal horse named Jules—be the key to escaping her dreary existence? With a technological exposition and royal ball on the horizon, the timing might just be perfect for Nicolette to earn her freedom at last.

Gorgeous prose and themes of social justice and family shine in this richly imagined Cinderella retelling about an indomitable inventor who finds her prince . . . but realizes she doesn’t want a fairy tale happy ending after all.

 

Tides+Cover+FinalTIDES

GoodReads | Amazon | B&N | IndieBound

“[A] graceful debut novel. . . . The narrative shimmers and haunts, and will appeal to readers who don’t typically like fantasy.” Booklist

☆ “Cornwell’s themes of body image, abuse, and the danger and pleasure found in relationships of all kinds emerge organically through the book’s visceral, disturbing, and often lovely imagery.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“An insightful and compelling work.” —School Library Journal

Bank Street Best Children’s Books of 2013, Bisexual Book Awards nominee

When high-school senior Noah Gallagher and his adopted teenage sister, Lo, go to live with their grandmother in her island cottage for the summer, they don’t expect much in the way of adventure. Noah has landed a marine biology internship, and Lo wants to draw and paint, perhaps even to vanquish her struggles with bulimia. But then things take a dramatic turn for them both when Noah mistakenly tries to save a mysterious girl from drowning. This dreamlike, suspenseful story—deftly told from multiple points of view—dives deeply into selkie folklore while examining the fluid nature of love and family.

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave