Five Good Things {No. 4}

tumblr_nnmruoqq4H1qzc79io2_500·Edna St. Vincent Millay, one of my literary heroes, is now a paper doll. She will be living in my office as soon as I refill my printer. And I really do mean hero; I quoted an entire Millay sonnet in my high school yearbook, because I have always been that particular kind of pretentious. (I stand by the decision.)

tumblr_nnm124MzDe1rvy3ulo1_500·Mechanica got an elusive Kirkus star!  I cried and tweeted about it–both, probably, too much. I’ve been working on the book since 2009, so six years of doubt and heartache and worry have gone into it, and . . . I know reviews are subjective and all of that, but hearing about this one was a big affirming moment. The review might spoil the ending a small bit, so watch out for that!

·In more good book news, Barnes & Noble’s teen blog chose Tides to represent New Hampshire in their YA tour of the East Coast. (I super want to read Witch Child now.)

Roasted-Blueberry-Balsamic-Goats-Cheese-Ice-Cream-4-622x900·The summer issue of Parabola just came out, and you’ll find my essay “Fallen Angel” inside. It’s about my Inishmore handfasting, Jane Eyre, Nutcracker angels, and being a bride. It’s my favorite piece that I’ve published in Parabola so far, so I hope you’ll read it!

·Roasted blueberry balsamic goat cheese ice cream. Oh, hello. I must make you. I’ve got the cheese (and the goats). If only I had an ice cream maker.

Five Good Things {No. 3}

tumblr_nmrpplbZE21tuqkmto3_500

·Seal madeleines. Selkie cookies! Staaaahp. I can’t handle it.

·The Marriage Referendum is coming up here in Ireland, and this letter in the Times (among other things) gives me hope that it might actually turn out right.

11035621_1621797738052308_2215762452042959681_n

·I did my first Mechanica-centric author interview for the last day of this year’s #FairyTaleFortnight. You can read it, and enter to win an advance reader copy, here. Interview highlights: Dragons vs. krakens, obscure fairy tales, Smith College, and the Disney villain I like the least (even though he’s technically supposed to be a good guy).

·Speaking of Mechanica, the first early blog reviews are starting to trickle in! They’ve ranged from “the most innovative adaptation of a fairy tale released in a book for a long time” to “the most awful Cinderella retelling ever written” (both on Goodreads),  but the majority have been pretty great. One librarian gave five stars and said it’s “perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine,” which obviously made me happy-cry. Read more early review excerpts on my Mechanica page.

tumblr_nmo5p2TC4R1qaufopo2_r1_400·RTE (Raidió Teilifís Éireann) has decided to look down upon us in mercy and show the new Outlander episodes on Tuesday nights, mere days after they premiere on cable in America. My husband knows to bring me ice cream and shut the fuck up when this show comes on, because I can’t have the brawny yet sensitive Celt I live with interrupt my viewing of the brawny yet sensitive Celt on my television. Did you SEE that opening scene from this week? No wonder the AV Club called it “the best sex on TV.” (Source of that gif is here and definitely not safe for work.)

Five Good Things {No. 2}

(I know I said every fortnight. Shh, it’s okay.)

http://lady-adventurer.tumblr.com/post/114439961889/thalassophilouswitch-sosuperawesome·In case you’re impatient for the Tides companion novel, you can now read the prologue on Facebook–I released it, unlike my post on Neasa, in time for St. Patrick’s Day.

·I have a new job! I’m now a consultant at The Inkwell Group, Ireland’s leading publishing consultancy, offering manuscript critiques, online workshops, and other good things. Learn more on my editorial page.

·The ever-inspiring Anne Lamott told us that “God only has one shoe” and explained why we might not feel like reliable narrators of our own lives–something I’ve been thinking about a lot lately. Her trust in the creative process (and the life process, really) is something I’m always striving toward.

·There’s been a real spike in submissions to “Where I Live Now,” the ongoing series about women and home that I’m editing for The Rose & Chestnut. It’s a wonderful thing to get so many honest, vulnerable, beautifully written essays from our guest writers. The latest piece is “A Room of My Own” by Liesl Dineen. (And I’d love for you to add to the series, too!)

·These watercolor insect paintings are fairly breathtaking.

http://lady-adventurer.tumblr.com/post/114439961889/thalassophilouswitch-sosuperawesome

 

 

Good Things {No. 1}

22535481{Good Things will be a regular feature here: five books, links, events, or any other Good Things I’ve come across lately. You can expect it every fortnight, because that’s a unit of time people still use regularly here, and I’m adopting it, too.}

·I got to read A Wicked ThingRhiannon Thomas‘ Sleeping Beauty retelling, early. It released yesterday and is so much fun: entertaining and frothy, but with a genuine feminist slant that won’t leave a bad taste in your mouth. You can read my review on GoodReads.

·Mechanica was featured on the New York Public Library blog, along with Ella Enchanted and some of my other very favorite retellings. Ten YA Retellings of Cinderella – NYPL

·There are all sorts of Good Things on The Rose & Chestnut lately, including Alex’s springtime playlist and my posts on conditional love and mori-kei, or forest style.

·I’ve recently joined the Irish Guild of Weavers, Spinners, and Dyers, and am looking forward like crazy to their next Dublin conference in just a week’s time!

·Honey On Tap. Can you just imagine?